Biermischgetränke – German for “beer-based mixed drinks”

18 Mar

Impressed? You shouldn’t be. Wikipedia is a wealth of information…

I’d like to discuss a drink that I’ve had good and bad experiences with. Shandies. Shandies are more popular in western Europe than other parts of the world, but they’ve been making quite a fuss in the US over the past few years. When I first was told that a beer was mixed with lemonade, two things went through my head – gross and yum! I know very conflicting thoughts. Therefore, I had to try one. The first shandy I tried was a Narragansett Del’s Shandy. I’m going to tell you right now, I did not hate it. It was not gross. It was delightfully refreshing. Since then, I’ve tasted a few others and have not had the same experience. They’ve either been way too sweet or just didn’t mix well.

Shandy Do To You!

That was until I tried Traveler Beer Company’s Lemon Shandy, based out of Burlington, VT (so sort of local). It is a really good balance between the two. Traveler Beer Company has taken the European shandy and elevated it with natural ingredients and new flavors, brewing with real fruit, rather than mixing. It tastes fresh and it is refreshing. I can see it being my shandy of choice come the summer. If you are interested in trying it for yourself, check out where it is sold near you. And, the mascot, if you will, is a mustache!

20150312_192340

While perusing the Traveler Beer Company’s website, I came across a page promoting their Craft Brew Races & Costume Contest. Beer + costumes + running = yes please! Follow them on TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

Thanks to Stuntman PR and Traveler’s for sending me a few samples of this deliciousness.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

