Time to unplug!

4 Mar

You know you live in an uber-connected world when someone sends you an email and tells you that this weekend (March 6-7) is celebrated as National Day of Unplugging. I’d like to think that I could put my phone down and not touch it for a full 24 hours, but I know that is a lie. So this weekend, I am going to try to unplug. I am only going to use my phone to text and for calls. I will not be posting on social media. I will not be obsessively be checking Instagram or Facebook. I will unplug and let goodness happen. To distract myself, I’ve ordered two 500 piece puzzles. I think that should keep me busy for a bit.

Our friends over at Cruzan Rum sent over a recipe for a drink to get you through the Unplugged weekend. And you know how much I love puns, so here it is:

Cru-ZenCruzan_Zen
Ingredients:
1 1/2 parts Cruzan® Aged Light Rum
1/2 part White Vermouth
1/2 part Chamomile Syrup*
1/2 part Fresh Lemon Juice
1 Egg White
Dash of Bitters

Method:
Combine all ingredients in a shaker. Shake without ice to combine. Add ice, shake vigorously for 10 seconds and double strain into a chilled coupe glass. Garnish with two drops of Bitters.

*Chamomile Syrup:
Steep two Chamomile Tea Bags in 8oz. Hot Water for 5 minutes to make double strength Tea.
Add 8oz. Sugar to Tea and stir until Sugar is dissolved.
Syrup will be good for one month.

Can you unplug this weekend? If you decide to unplug, let us now how it goes. And, before you unplug on Friday, here are some of the best videos and stories I’ve seen this week:

Apparently this pup does this when he is shown a toy.

Adam Levine and Maroon 5 are fantastic.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ryanhatesthis/adam-levine-had-the-best-reaction-when-a-10-year-old-super-f?bffb&utm_term=4ldqpgp#4ldqpgp

‘Love Has No Labels’ PSA is a beautiful ode to humanity

Hulk is awesome. Hulk, the dog, that is. 

 

Leave a Reply

