Image

I’m giving up…

1 Mar

For Lent this year, I decided to give up fried food. I typically try something like swearing, but that doesn’t usually last more than an hour. Other years, I decide that I am just going to be a better person, but I mean I’m already nice, so I don’t know how to be better (sarcasm). This year, I needed to decide on something that I can control. So far, I have only slipped up once. I had a few munchkins last week. I forgot those bitches are fried. They were good, but fried. For those of you that know me, you know my LOVE for french fries and wings. It is going to be a rough stretch, but I can do it. I’ve also decided to not set myself up for a complete failure, so I let chips be off the list of fried food. But, if you see me with something fried in my hand, smack it away from me, please!

 

Stud Muffin gave up sweets and soda. I wish he had just decided on soda because now when we go out, I can’t order dessert. And I feel terrible for bringing anything sweet into the house. I mean, I need Easter candy! I guess I’ll have to hide those little Cadbury Mini Eggs of deliciousness. I will say, he has been really good. A few weeks ago, I went to the grocery store and had a moment of weakness and bought double-stuffed Oreos. First, there are still some left. Second, he hasn’t touched them since Ash Wednesday. #proud However, they are also still there because I can only eat them on the weekends. Yes, you read that correctly. I don’t eat them for breakfast and I cannot eat chocolate past 3 p.m. because it keeps me up all night. So therefore, I can only eat them around lunch time on the weekends. I know, it is like I am a child. If I do decided to indulge, I twist it open as one would and then proceed to just eat the cream. Back to Lent…

This year, we are hosting Easter because we moved into our new house and my sister usually hosts everything else. We will gladly host, but I hope the family is good with french fries and buffalo wings for Easter dinner!

What are you giving up for Lent this year? How are you doing?

The struggle is real.

One Response to “I’m giving up…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. National Chip & Dip Day: March 23 | The Eats - March 20, 2015

    […] On March 23, the nation celebrates National Chip & Dip Day! If you remember from my post on What I’m giving up for Lent, I said I wasn’t going to set myself up for failure and decided to leave chips off of […]

Leave a Reply

