Toro, Toro, Where for Art Though Toro?

13 Nov

It’s in the South End and it is delicious. Stud Muffin and I went to Toro with my sister and her hubby a few weeks ago and obviously it left an impression because I am still thinking about it.

Seven words: Maiz Asado con Alioli y Queso Cotija. Just listen to this description: Grilled corn with alioli, lime, espellette pepper and aged cheese. I can’t even begin to describe how amazing this corn on the cob truly was. I had heard about it before from people, but was always like, “yeah, right, it is just corn on the cob. how good could that be?” Boy, was I in for a pleasant surprise and from that first bite, I decided that I will try not to doubt those who explain good eats to me.

Heavenly corn. Photo cred: Instagram: Toro, NYC

Heavenly corn. Photo cred: Instagram: Toro, NYC

The word tapas makes me smile because I know that I get to eat a little bit of a lot of things, and that is exactly what we did. We had dates filled with marcona almonds and cabrales blue cheese, wrapped in ham; we had Tortilla Espanola (egg, potato and onion omelet with alioli); crispy pork belly; olives; and the guys had bone marrow. There was so much good food and I did try it all, but personal opinion, bone marrow is supposed to stay in the bone. 

If you are looking for a great place to try some great new food, I definitely recommend Toro. Disclaimer, warning, whatever you’d like to call it: THERE WILL BE A WAIT. We went on a Saturday at 6:15 p.m., we weren’t seated until 8:10 p.m. The service was great and the atmosphere was young and loud.

Good news for those not in Boston, Toro just opened up a location in New York at 85 10th Ave. 

Check them out on Facebook and Twitter or on Instagram (NY location).

And if you go to the location in Boston, for goodness sake, invite me!

Stud Muffin and me before we were full.

Stud Muffin and me before we were full. Photo cred: AMK

Leave a Reply

