When in Rome…

21 Dec

It’s been a while since I blogged. I really need to get better about doing this. Anyway, I’ve been on the road again (yes, I know, no excuses Cdog), but if I wasn’t on the road then you wouldn’t get to see these lovely photos from Roma! That’s right, I was in Italy AGAIN! This was my third trip this year and I got to enjoy Italy in three seasons. Maybe next year, I’ll make it four 😉

This trip, I had one special night with my amazingly fabulous team (ahem!) at Salumeria Roscioli, a famous deli/bakery in Rome. Now, that may not sound that awesome (hanging out at a deli?), but this wasn’t just that.

Roscioli

They organized a wine tasting for our whole group in a private room. The room was sort of like a stockroom with cans, jars and stacks and stacks of wine. We tasted 6 wines along with various meats, cheeses and homemade breads.

Fresh mozzarella, sun dried tomato, focaccia

Salami

Cheeeeeeeeeese

As well as an entree of pasta with bacon (hello Kteb!) and we finished with panettone – a traditional Italian Christmas sweetbread. I’m not usually a huge fan of Christmas breads, but this was incredible. Sweet but not too sweet, light, eggy and the right amount of fruit. And NO nuts. I hate nuts in food.

Pasta with tomato sauce and bacon

Panettone

Panettone goodness

The highlight of the tasting (aside from the wine) was the cheese. The favorite around the room was the aged Parmesan. It was salty, crumbly and creamy all at the same time. Delizioso!

Aged Parmesan

Our night included lots of great Italian wine and food! But we weren’t done. The next night we spent at a local pizzeria near Piazza NavonaLa Focaccia. They make traditional Roman style pizza, which acutally has a thicker crust. The pizza was really good. I had Quatro Formaggi…four cheese pizza…obvi. The best part about it is the Gorgonzola. It just adds this layer of complexity that makes it interesting.

Pizza!

Rome in and of itself was just lovely. If you have a chance to go around Christmas, I would highly recommend it. Below are some shots around Rome.

Piazza Venezia

Via del Corso

Angels

Christmas at the Colosseum

Buon Natale!!

Ciao!

~cdog

Leave a Reply

