Leftover turkey? No problem.

28 Nov

Turkey sandwiches, turkey pot pie, turkey casserole…BORING! Every year after Thanksgiving you’ll see recipes galore claiming that they have found the best uses for leftover turkey. I’m here to tell you that I, yes I, Cdog have found the best use for leftover turkey. TURKEY TACOS! As much as I love Thanksgiving dinner, I also am not a huge fan of leftovers (just ask my Mom). So when I have leftovers the last thing I want to do is have the same meal over and over. I can’t remember when but the Love Muffin and I found this recipe for turkey tacos a few years ago. Every year it is one of the meals I look forward to the most around Thanksgiving.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • About 1/2 lb of leftover pulled turkey meat (white or dark – your preference)
  • Leftover cranberry sauce (preferably the fresh not jellied)
  • One small container of plain Greek yogurt (I prefer Chobani)
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp of chili powder, plus 1 more tsp for the cranberry sauce salsa
  • 1 tsp of paprika
  • 1/4 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp of cayenne
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro
  • Flour tortillas

You could also buy a McCormick’s taco seasoning packet, but we like to make our own. And if you decide to make your own, may I recommend Penzey’s spices. Their stuff is ridic. Now onto the easy part…the cooking!

Pull the leftover turkey and place it in a non-stick skillet with a little bit of water. Put the burner on low to start to heat it. Add the spices (chili, cumin, paprika, garlic, cayenne, salt & pepper). Mix it all together and continue to let it simmer. While the turkey is heating you can prepare the cranberry sauce salsa. Finely chop the cilantro and add it to the cranberry sauce, along with 1 tsp of chili powder. When the turkey is heated through, your tacos are almost ready. Take out a tortilla and fill it with the pulled turkey, top it with the cranberry sauce salsa and then with the Greek yogurt, fold and enjoy!

So as annoying as it is, this recipe isn’t just a good way to reuse turkey, it’s also super healthy (bonus!). Please let me know if you decide to try this! We make ours differently every year and it would be awesome to hear your spin on it.

~cdog

2 Responses to “Leftover turkey? No problem.”

  1. Lindsay @ Chobani November 29, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Yum, what a great recipe to use up those turkey leftovers, or for any time of the year. Thanks for sharing your Chobani love! Please email me if you ever need a fresh supply!

  2. cdog November 29, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Thanks Lindsay! We love Chobani! I never realized what a good, healthy substitution it was for sour cream. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

