My birthday at 62 Restaurant & Wine Bar

23 Nov

This post has been a long time coming. Truth be told, I was just lazy in writing it. Well that’s not entirely true. Following my birthday I had friends in town, it was Halloween and then I went to Italy. All excuses aside this blog is about the amazing food that I had to celebrate my birthday. For those of you keeping track my birthday is October 21. This year it fell on a Friday. To celebrate I gathered my closest friends and family for an amazing dinner at 62 Restaurant and Wine Bar.

Our dinner was AMAZING. And I can speak for all of my guests when I say that we were treated incredibly well, the food was unbelievable and I’m sure it won’t be the last event we have at 62.

But the fun doesn’t stop there with 62 Restaurant and Wine Bar. As a surprise for my birthday the Love Muffin orchestrated a cooking class for my parents and the two of us with Chef Tony. For those of you who haven’t eaten at this restaurant you will never understand my excitement. So the Monday following my birthday we headed back to 62 for our private cooking class. The restaurant is closed on Mondays so it was just us with Chef Tony. He brought us into the kitchen, with a quick stop at the bar for glasses of wine and we looked over our menu for the night. Each of us made a course. I made the appetizer (arancini), the Love Muffin made the pasta course (Ravioli al Osso Bucco), my dad made the main course (rotolo di manzo) and my mom made dessert (warm toffee pudding).

Rather than me talking about it I’m just going to show you photos from my birthday night and our cooking class. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I can’t thank Chef Tony and his staff (most notably Jeremy, Eric and Jamie) for making my 30th birthday the best one yet!

~cdog

 

5 Responses to “My birthday at 62 Restaurant & Wine Bar”

  1. Aunt Mary November 23, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    First of all, how could you possibly be 30?! And secondly, how much alcohol did my brother have to have before he got into the kitchen? Looks like you all had so much fun – what a great idea that was! Love you, love the blog, hugs and happy Thanksgiving to Paul.

    Mary

  2. Kteb November 23, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I speak truth when I see this place is amazing! Thank you to Paul for planning such a wonderful night for such a wonderful friend!

    • Kteb November 23, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

      And by see, I mean say.

  3. cdog November 28, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    You’d be surprised. It actually didn’t take a lot to get Dad into the kitchen AND he did a really good job 🙂 Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Everything’s Comin’ up Beverly | The Eats - March 1, 2015

    […] When I first moved out of the city of Boston it was to Salem, MA. The Love Muffin and I had a fantastic apartment right near the walking mall on Essex Street and The Wharf. But as time went on, we realized a house was in our future and decided to settle one town farther North in Beverly, MA. Beverly is great. It’s on the water (we have multiple beaches), there is a cute downtown, we are a stones throw from Boston (30 minute train ride into South Station) and we are still close to all of the things we fell in love with in Salem (ahem, 62 Restaurant). […]

Leave a Reply

