Fig, Prosciutto, Goat Cheese…Pizza

10 Oct

I mean the title of this post really says it all. Two weeks ago the Love Muffin and I were talking about what to have for dinner during Friday of that week. We always try to do something different or a little bit challenging. Of course I suggested pizza. I really can’t help myself. Especially on the weekends. This pizza was partially inspired by a dinner I had with really great friends at Todd English’s restaurant Figs in Charlestown, MA (and yes, for the record, Kteb was in attendance). The restaurant makes thin crust, wood fired pizzas and if you couldn’t guess from the name, one of their most famous pizzas is the fig & prosciutto. These two flavors also happen to be some of the Love Muffin’s absolute favorites. Hence my suggestion for our Friday night dish.

We started with the Love Muffin’s homemade pizza dough. Maybe someday if you’re all lucky, I will share the recipe with you. He’s been perfecting it over the last few years and this pizza was no exception. The dough came out PERFECT. Ours was different from Mr. English’s thin crust. Ours was pillowy and soft. I decided to top it with a spicy olive oil that we got from Oilerie. Add salt and pepper and a little parmesan cheese and we’re ready for the toppings.  Since fresh figs are hard to come by in these parts we bought California grown Adriatic figs – still just as good as the fresh. I got prosciutto from the deli at the grocery store – if you’re ever in need, I would definitely recommend buying that way, instead of prepackaged. I was able to ask for a specific amount of slices and it saved us a boat load of money and we didn’t have any left over. And for the Pièce de résistance fresh goat cheese. Of course just one cheese wasn’t enough for this Wisconsinite – so we finished it off with shredded mozzarella (just a little, not a lot).

and voila…

fig, prosciutto, goat cheese pizza

And for the record, because I’m sure Fatman is wondering, we didn’t use any “birdseed” under the crust to keep it from sticking. It was all flour. The pizza was delicious and one for the record books. The spiciness to the oil was just present enough to make you wonder what it was that was spicy and the sweetness/savory/salty combination of the toppings was to.die.for. I’m sure we’ll make it again. In the meantime, I’ll just be drooling over this pic.

Happy pizza eating!

~cdog

One Response to “Fig, Prosciutto, Goat Cheese…Pizza”

  1. Fatman October 11, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    While I have no doubt that to you this was delicious, you know how I feel about pizza with weird crap on it. Okay, prosciutto is fantastic, but as for the figs and goat cheese — well… 🙂

    This is a severe case of Wisconsin + Massachusetts and just nowhere to go to get, ummmm, pizza.

    I applaud your efforts and culinary callenges that you impose on yourself. And it looks like this was a tremendous success, if you do say so yourself.

    I am pleased to learn that you did not use bird seed, but let’s all be clear that this creation falls in the category of GOURMET pizza. I don’t want people reading this blog to become confused that this is actually pizza 😉

Leave a Reply

