Pumpkin beer – this is why I can’t stand you

13 Sep

Today the Huffington Post wrote up a slideshow of popular Pumpkin Beers that are currently on the market. You can check out their slideshow here. For anyone living in the New England area there are certainly some that are Fall regulars –

Among others on that list…

Here’s my gripe with Pumpkin Beer:

I’m sorry but I do not want to drink pumpkin pie. I want BEER, not an overabundance of pumpkin pie spices, mixed in with a brown ale/blonde ale/hefeweizen/pale ale/insert beer here. If I wanted to drink pumpkin pie I would make a smoothie out of Thanksgiving leftovers. I can’t say I’m the only one who feels this way…we all know how Kteb feels about pumpkin anything.

Now, that’s not to say that all pumpkin beers are offenders. I’ve had some that are exceptional – and one in particular that is my favorite. But I would say most of them are offenders…

So beer gods if you’re listening, please advise all of the brewers/breweries out there – stop ruining good pumpkin beer with the overabundant pumpkin pie spice. Otherwise we’re going to have to rename these beers pumpkin pie beer…just sayin.

Respectfully…

~cdog

2 Responses to “Pumpkin beer – this is why I can’t stand you”

  1. Jamie September 13, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    I do like pumpkin beers, but not all.

    I ordered one at a bar once and they covered the whole rim of the glass in some cinnamon sugar mess like it was a martini or something. I almost threw up.

    People really overdo it.

    A little pumpkin flavor with some cinnamon or nutmeg flavors? Good. Drinks like a pumpkin pie? I’m going to riot.

    • _ryan September 14, 2011 at 7:35 am #

      i can’t wait to try mine.

Leave a Reply

