Happy Birthday Mom! Lobster, Prosciutto, Limoncello, Oh My!

5 Sep

Happy Labor day! And a very Happy Birthday to  my wonderful, amazing mom! On Saturday, we had a party to celebrate her birthday I was asked to be in charge of appetizers and I happily accepted. I reached into the archive of The-Eats and chose to make the prosciutto, cheese and fig crostini that I made for Christen’s party a few weeks ago. I guess I didn’t have to go too far in the archives http://the-eats.com/2011/08/20/crostini-fig-and-prosciutto/.

I also wanted to try something new that I knew my mom would like. So, I chose to use lobster in a dish. I found a great recipe for Lobster & Artichoke dip. I doctored it a little bit, I didn’t use the mustard powder it asked for and subbed it with garlic powder and paprika. I also didn’t use the vermouth. But it turned out great. 

Then my sister and brother-in-law made a great dinner which consisted of a beef tenderloin, salmon (for people like me that don’t eat cow), corn, green beans, and rolls. My cousin brought a great caprese salad that was very refreshing.

We capped off the night with Party Favors cake, which is the most amazing cake I’ve ever had. My family has it for almost every celebration. I highly recommend checking them out if you ever need a cake. They are also really great at creating any type of decoration on the cake, within reason of course. I once carried a PF cake from Boston to Myrtle Beach for my mom’s birthday. My cousin also brought my sister a house warming gift of Limoncello and boy was it yummy!

The cake that mad the trip from Boston to Myrtle Beach!

Thanks to Sis and Bro-in-law for hosting a great time and thanks to my mom for giving us all a reason to celebrate.

-Kteb

3 Responses to “Happy Birthday Mom! Lobster, Prosciutto, Limoncello, Oh My!”

  1. cdog September 5, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAPPY BIRTHDAY!! Mama Kteb!! What no Chick-fil-a party tray?? This all looks amazing. I can only hope for this during my next b-day celebration. xoox

  2. Brian Genest September 6, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    Awesome blog and not just because you mentioned that refreshing caprese salad! 😉

  3. ktebcdog September 6, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Thanks Brian!! And Christen, don’t you worry. You will definitely have a special birthday celebration with a special birthday blog post!

Leave a Reply

