My new favorite drink

30 Jul

If your weather was anything like ours last week you were sweltering in 100+ degrees. Living in a house that was built in the first decade of the 20 century does not provide much relief from the heat. It was Friday night and we had nothing to do so the Love Muffin suggested that he was in the mood for a margarita. A cold, refreshing burst of happiness in your mouth – I happily agreed and went on the hunt to find a new Mexican restaurant for us to try.

A big thanks to Yelp for helping me out on this one – because what I found is now one of our favorite places to go. Cielito Lindo is the name and it’s right on Cabot Street in downtown Beverly.  It’s a tiny, unassuming place but because of the reviews I had a good idea that we weren’t going to be let down. We were seated immediately by a very nice server and given menus. After a few minutes we knew we were going to order the guac and the Love Muffin had settled on his margarita – but that left me…what was I going to get? Truth be told I’m not a huge marg fan and of course you know my love for beer, so I settled on something off the beer menu. They have an amazing amount of Mexican beers. As I look, I’m thinking hmm, Pacifico (I enjoyed many of these with D and PFR in Mexico earlier this year) that could be good. Then something else struck me…Chelada. WTF is a Chelada.

So the server edumacated me:

Server: Chelada is our version of a beer cocktail

Me: Beer+Cocktail = out of this world, I’m sold

Server: Don’t you want me to explain to you what it is?

Me: Yea, sure

Server: We take a pint glass rimmed with rock salt, add a little bit of ice and a healthy pour of fresh lime juice, add your favorite light Mexican beer. I would recommend Pacifico.

And then it was like the clouds opened up and heaven rained down upon me – what he explained was exactly what I was looking for in a drink. I was sold. And let me tell you the.best.ever. Seriously. It was so good. You know how a lot of people say there is nothing better than a good beer on a hot day, this takes it up a notch – awesomeness! He also told me that they make a spicy version of it with a few different kinds of hot sauces and salsa but that wasn’t available that night (also known in Mexico as Michelada and don’t even get it twisted with that Budweiser shit that that they sell, disgusting).

So folks, there it is, my new favorite drink. I am definitely going to try and recreate this at home, but you know how it is, after a long, hot week there is nothing like someone else making it for you.

As an aside, if you were wondering about the food – it was freaking unreal – better than the food I had in Mexico earlier this year. The guac was served in a huge pestle with salty, crunchy chips. Both the Love Muffin and I had the nightly special – pulled pork that was marinated in spices and pineapple, covered with diced red onion and jalapeno, topped with tomatillo salsa all on homemade fresh corn tortillas. The tacos came with a healthy serving of black beans and rice. Check out the menu. I hear that their Mole is amazing.

We both left Cielito Lindo full and happy and with enough food for lunch the next day. The service was impeccable and I can guarantee you that we will be back. I highly recommend that you try going there and if you happen to find yourself at a different Mexican restaurant ask for a Chelada – you can’t go wrong!

~cdog

P.S. A Happy Birthday shoutout to two of my favorite people…my Dad and D! Love you guys!!

3 Responses to “My new favorite drink”

  1. Anonymous July 30, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Happy Birthday Mr. Rice and Mr. Dennisf! I hope you both have the best of days!

  2. Mariano July 30, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Haha! come on, you are telling me you didn’t know?? well, welcome to the latin drinks’ world girl…

  3. Cdogdad July 31, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Thanks for the birthday wishes – great to have you home

Leave a Reply

