Recipe Wed: Cdog’s Dry Rub Recipe

6 Jul

If you’ve ever had the pleasure of eating my BBQ you know there are a few things I take VERY seriously.

One, is the cut of meat that I buy. Here’s a small tip, if you’re at the grocery story and looking for something specific but don’t see it – ASK. Most grocery stores have butcher shops in them and unless you’re grocery shopping at the end of store hours or at the end of a busy weekend, chances are, they will be able to butcher whatever you’d like. (I experienced this last weekend – thanks Danvers Market Basket for being so accommodating with my brisket). My favorite meat choices as of late have been split chicken breasts (bone-in), brisket (duh) and pork butt.

Two, is the dry rub that I use. I like to use a dry rub, even when I know there is going to be sauce involved later. There is just something about the flavors really getting baked into the meat that makes it that much more special. Another great thing I’ve found with dry rubs is that they are really versatile – I can use the same rub for beef that I can for pork – umm yes!

Cdog's ribs - ok not really my ribs, but you know what I mean

Three, is the sauce that I use. Personally my favorite kind of sauce is Carolina style (vinegar based) BBQ sauce. Of course this is best with pork, although I’ve tried it with chicken and still loved the results. For beef, I have found that I actually prefer Texas style BBQ – no sauce needed. Just enjoy the dry rub and the flavors of the smoke and meat.

Now that you know what is important to me and my BBQ – I will give you my tried and true rub recipe. Use this on ribs, pork butt, brisket and even chicken and enjoy! This should be enough for 8-10 pounds of meat, but it also keeps nicely in a jar, so make it and keep some for later or use it up!

Cdog’s BBQ Dry Rub:

  • 1/4 cup paprika
  • 1/8 cup salt
  • 1/8 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/8 cup cumin
  • 1/8 cup chili powder
  • 1/8 cup fresh cracked black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp of cayenne (optional – you can reduce the amount to your liking)

Mix together in a stainless steel bowl and apply a generous coating on the meat. Allow meat to refrigerate, at least two hours but can be up to 12 hours or more, then prepare however you like best – smoked, grilled, baked, crock pot – you name it. It all works! After cooking, your meat should have an amazing flavorful crust that will surely not disappoint!

Happy BBQ’ing!

~cdog

One Response to “Recipe Wed: Cdog’s Dry Rub Recipe”

  1. Cooking with Coley July 11, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Sounds delicious. I hope that I can try this, along with many of your BBQ specialties, at your August shindig.

Leave a Reply

