4th of July is upon us!

1 Jul

The 4th of July weekend is upon us …and you know what that means…it’s cookout time again!!! Hooray! There are so many choices when it comes to eating on this weekend. For me memories of the 4th usually contain your usual suspects:

grilled items – hamburgers, hot dogs, brats

salads galore – cole slaw, potato salad, German potato salad, pasta salad

fruit – hello watermelon seed spitting contest

desserts – can someone say flag cake??

I don’t really need to say it, but of course there is always an ample amount of beer around too!

This weekend won’t be much different except that the Love Muffin and I will be celebrating our first 4th of July in our house (last year we were on vaca in Wisco so it doesn’t count as being here…duh). Of course we’ve invited over our besties (sadly Kteb will be visiting the city of Brotherly Love – I’m sure she will have lots to talk about after this weekend) and will be having a cookout. We have some great stuff on our menu and our friends will all be chipping in. With the success of our Memorial Day cookout still in our minds, we decided to use the smoker again to make ribs and chicken.

Check out the pics from our first attempt with the smoker:

Smoked chicken - whaaaaaaaaaat?

Ribs w/my own dry rub

The spread

I mean it can’t really get any better than smoked meat, fresh summer salads and your favorite people around you to celebrate summer (don’t forget the sparklers and fireworks this weekend too!). I am so excited about the long weekend – oh and bonus my parents are here too! Just for fun I’ve included below some of the great recipes I’ve seen that can totally amp up your 4th of July cookout.

Lobster Boil – yes I may be Midwestern at heart but I have 100% adopted New England life!

Flag Cake – alright I know you may be rolling your eyes at this one, but honestly, how can you turn down fresh fruit, light cake and cream?

Beer Brats – you know they’re a cdog staple

Avocado/tomatillo dip – I haven’t tried this yet, but will be this weekend – will keep you posted!

Grilled corn on the cob – To. Die. For. Seriously.

Pimms Cup (cocktail) – A few years ago this drink was introduced to me and it is incredibly refreshing and perfect for summer

Ina Garten’s Potato Salad – Potato salad is one of those dishes where you can really make it your own – this one has all of the ingredients that remind me of Grandma’s

Those are just some of the recipes that have caught my eye or are tried and true 4th of July cookout options. What are your favorite 4th of July traditions and recipes? I’ll keep you posted after this weekend to let you know what we had, what we liked and what is still on the “to try” list.

Happy 4th of July!!!!!!!!!!!

~cdog

Leave a Reply

