Minding your Peas and Q’s

11 May

Who knew that you could make pesto out of almost anything? In my quest to learn Italian (okay, let’s be honest, it’s not a quest I just want to be able to look at a menu in Italian and order) I found out that “Pesto” is Italian for pestare which means “to pound” or “to crush”. The most common type of pesto is made with basil (duh) but I’ve also had them made from other herbs or lettuce, like arugula (umm awesome!). Since it’s recipe Wednesday I thought it would be appropriate to share a recipe I just got last weekend for a Green Pea Pesto.

I DIE for peas. I know that might sound weird or gross, but honestly, what is better than crunching into a fresh pea pod?? Umm, not much. They’re sweet, crunchy and SO good for you (bonus!). So when I found this recipe, I knew it had to go in my recipe repertoire. With all of the traveling I’m doing I haven’t had a chance to try it yet, but you definitely should. Here are the ingredients and recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of fresh peas
  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 cup of basil or spinach leaves
  • 3 tablespoons of pine nuts
  • 3 tablespoons of Parmigiano Reggiano
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Cook 2 1/2 cups of fresh peas in boiling water for 3 minutes. Drain well. Heat one tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet. Add the peas and the garlic clove. Saute for two minutes. Place in a food processor 1/2 cup of basil or spinach leaves, three tablespoons of pine nuts and three tablespoons of Parmigiano Regianno cheese. Pulse until course. Add two more tablespoons of olive oil and blend. Season with salt and pepper. Serve with crackers or over salmon, chicken or ravioli.

Happy Spring (finally!!)

~cdog

P.S. Kteb is on her way to NYC tomorrow and I’m off to London on Sunday so if the updates are slow you know why – we’re traveling fools!

3 Responses to “Minding your Peas and Q’s”

  1. kteb May 12, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    when you said bonus! i thought winning! is that bad?

  2. D May 12, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    It’s like I don’t even know you anymore. Peas? This hurts my heart. Can a brother get some bacon and beer posts up in this piece?

    • kteb May 12, 2011 at 8:45 am #

      well d, you just hold your horses until monday. i will have a full recap of the awesome party you will be missing due to an unfortunate first communion or confirmation (give or take 7 years or so).

Leave a Reply

