Fatman’s Ultimate Endorsement

6 May

Okay, so I have been very busy lately and oddly have not hit up any pizza places since my first review of Pizzeria Presti in Burlington. Hopefully the smoke will clear a bit and I’ll be able to get out and try some slices to write about.

In the meantime, however, my son Chase (aka: Fatbaby – though he is the furthest thing from fat) turned one this past Sunday and we had about 25 family members over at the house to celebrate. Why am I telling you about Chase’s birthday party? Well, because when Mrs. Fatman and I were discussing what to feed our guests, we decided on something easy and near and dear to my heart (and arteries)…pizza.

Ahhh, but where to get the pizza from? Sure, it would have been easy to order from the Bertucci’s around the corner. And while the majority of the guests were the in-laws, even I wouldn’t subject them to that! Side note…I actually like my in-laws, so the traditional joke here doesn’t apply. Not to mention that this would be a reflection on myself, and no Bertucci’s is entering the Fatman residence!

Since I have been in Boston (Condos in Marina Bay in Quincy and Kenmore Square, now a house in the Chestnut Hill section of Brookline), there are two places that I have had take-out pizza from that I actually like: Pino’s in Cleveland Circle and T. Anthony’s on Comm Ave. As for the rest that I’ve tried, they just weren’t up to par for what I would consider to be good (or even decent) pizza. So nowadays, I tend to stick to these two as my go-to places, even though they aren’t all that close to the house. But Pino’s delivers to the house.

So, Pino’s was the natural choice. We ordered eight large pies: three cheese, one pepperoni, one sausage, one mushroom and two veggie supremes (or whatever they call them). I asked to have the pies delivered at 1:30pm and at 1:30pm the doorbell rang. Now THAT is service. The pies were piping hot. The total came to $124. I counted that out, handed it to the guy, then handed him a $20 for the tip. He just stood there staring at me in disbelief, then thanked me profusely. If you had eight pizzas delivered to your house, how much would you have tipped? Perhaps a ten-spot would have sufficed, but I was grateful that the pie showed up on time and that they were hot. And I was in a good mood, because I knew that it was pizza time!

Not surprisingly, the pepperoni was the first to go, by a long shot. I was a bit surprised, though, that it took a while for the sausage pizza to get finished…and that is the one I was eating. I liken sausage to BBQ sauce – as both are FAR underrated extras. Pepperoni is the ketchup of the pizza toppings. Can anyone tell me that they truly prefer ketchup over BBQ sauce?  BBQ sauce is like bacon and cheese…it makes everything better! Now, I can see pizza eaters not liking sausage as much as pepperoni, but here is my theory on that. Sausage comes in two styles: sliced and crumbled. To me, nothing beats sliced sausage. Yet very few places serve the topping that way, and because of that (serving crumbled), I think it helps with the popularity of pepperoni. Don’t get me wrong, I love pepperoni too, but given the choice, I’ll take sliced sausage any day. I’m just glad that there weren’t any leftover veggie or mushroom slices!

Chase jumped right in (see picture) and enjoyed a cheese slice and everyone else seemed to be pretty happy with the pizza.

Chase Enjoying Pino's

I even overheard one of the in-laws say, “This is great. Usually we don’t have a selection to choose from.” So, all-in-all, not only did Pino’s deliver, but they clearly delivered! Great eats. But to be fair, I do have one gripe. One of the pies had cheese stuck to the top of the box. Since the gang plowed through just under seven of the pies, I was fine with the mangled pizza as my leftovers for the next two days. It just required some scraping and fancy cheese puzzle work.

And since this is a food blog, I’d be remiss if I didn’t include a shout out to Party Favors in Brookline (Coolidge Corner) for the awesome Cookie Monster cake (see picture). It was a simple yellow cake with frosting, but it was yummy. And most importantly, it prompted Chase to keep yelling, “COOOOK-AYYYYY”.

COOOOK-AYYYYY

If there is one thing that I hope my son took from his first birthday, it is that Daddy doesn’t mess around when it comes to pizza and he is expected to carry the torch for years to come.

~Fatman

2 Responses to “Fatman’s Ultimate Endorsement”

  1. Love Muffin May 6, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    It is cliche but I cannot believe how big he is getting. And now I want pizza, and cake…and cookies. Thanks Fatman. Go Yankees!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fatman To Come Out Of Hiding « The Eats - September 10, 2011

    […] 6.  That was my last post.  Chase’s birthday celebration “catered” by Pino’s.  I apologize.  But since then, a lot has happened in the Fatman household, namely the addition […]

Leave a Reply

