I’ve found my new favorite condiment (Recipe Wed.)

30 Mar

I’ve always had an affinity for a certain condiment that can be most often found on Greek food, like gyros. Growing up there was this gyro place in Waukesha called Gyros West. That is where my love affair started with Tzatziki – yep you read that right. My favorite condiment is not ketchup, not mustard, not mayo – it’s Tzatziki. Way easier said than spelled believe you me. I’ve always known that this was an easy dish to make but never really attempted to make it, until yesterday.

The Love Muffin and I found this great recipe in the latest issue of Real Simple for Chicken Pita with Tzatziki. Soooo this means that I was going to have to make it…from scratch. (Insert nervous face here) Currently my favorite Tzatziki can be found at this local deli called Deli Works – Kteb can tell you all about how we were (still are) obsessed with this place – back to the Tzatziki, it’s creamy and garlicky – my fav! The recipe in Real Simple isn’t bad, but there are definitely some changes I would make. So here you go Cdog’s Tzatziki recipe. I’ll just say it now, YOU’RE WELCOME!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Large Cucumber
  • 1 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Tablespoon Finely Chopped Mint
  • 2-4 Cloves of Garlic (chopped – I put 2 -4 in here because if you really like garlic, add more, it won’t hurt you!)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Pinch of Cayenne

Directions:

Combine the yogurt, mint and garlic in a bowl, stir. Peel the cucumber, seed it and then grate what’s left. This can get messy, but its so worth it grated. Once the cucumber is grated add it to the mixture, next add in the salt, pepper and cayenne, stir…and voila, you’ve got Tzatziki!

It’s best if you refrigerate over night and then use it, because it really gives the flavors a chance to meld. But if you’re like me, you make it and then want to devour it – so that’s okay too. I would also highly recommend trying this as your new condiment. I’m not kidding use it as a dip for veggies, a topping for burgers, chip dip – you name it! It is incredibly healthy, flavorful and satisfying.

I LOVE TZATZIKI!!!

~cdog

Leave a Reply

