Hand held foods

29 Mar

Eating by hand…No plate, fork, knife or spoon needed. This is my preferred method of inhaling food. Wraps, burgers, wings, pizza, panini, appetizers on a stick, pretty much anything, if I can eat it with my fingers I’ll choose it 100% of the time. That’s why I love snack foods so much…umm hello Cheez-Its and Pretzel Crisps (@PretzelCrisps) ! I digress, back to the point at hand.

Something that I have been really enjoying lately is Crostini. Don’t be fooled by the Italian name, it basically just means little toasts. Now you may be asking, “Cdog, what am I supposed to put on these so-called little toasts?” That’s the beauty of Crostini – you can put whatever you want on them! There are definitely common foods that get put on Crostini, think Bruschetta or tomato/basil/motzarella, however neither Kteb or me are very “common”. So below I’ve listed some of my favorite recipes for Crostini.

Ricotta Crostini with Sauteed Nettles – courtesy of Chow.com – make your own ricotta for this to0…I did it…super easy!

Fig Jam and Goat Cheese Crostini – courtesy of Chow.com. These two flavors are AMAZING together. Sweet and savory, you won’t be disappointed!

Artichoke-Dill Crostini – courtesy of Martha Stewart – this combo may sound weird, but add in a little lemon and mayo and you’ve got yourself a snack!

Slow Roasted Tomato Crostini – courtesy of Epicurious – now you may be thinking, Cdog, you said tomatoes were boring. Well this recipe isn’t! Roasted tomatoes, mint and kalamata olives combine for major flavor yo!

Prosciutto, Fig and Mint – courtesy of Jamie Oliver – don’t even bother, you’ll thank me later.

Here’s an idea – the next time you have a group of people over, make it a Crostini party. Everyone brings their favorite style. You’ll be amazed at how filling they’ll actually be and also how different your friend’s tastes are.

And now I’ve made myself hungry…darn it!

~cdog

2 Responses to “Hand held foods”

  1. Love Muffin March 29, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Wow, two Cdog posts in two days! We are so lucky. 🙂 These all look good. Now I am hungry too, and I just ate. Who wants to come to our crostini party?

  2. ktebcdog March 29, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    i’ll make buffalo chicken crostini’s… watch out now!

Leave a Reply

