A little dessert on this Recipe Wednesday?

2 Mar

Kteb is on vacation this week, yea you read that right. She left me to spend a week in the British Virgin Islands. I mean how can you give up March in Massachusetts for the Caribbean? Who am I kidding? I’m jealous as hell. So to drown my sorrows in my Kteb-less week, I decided to make caramel brownies. As a child I remember my Mom making these amazing brownies. I never knew how she did it – gooey chocolate, drippy sweet caramel and chocolate chips…YES PLEASE!

When I got married a year and a half ago all of the amazing women in my life put together a recipe book with all of their favorite (or my favorite) recipes. It dawned on me last Saturday that my Mom’s recipe was in this book. To the grocery store I went. Ingredients and recipe…ready…GO!

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of chocolate cake mix
  • 2/3 cup unsalted butter
  • 6 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup evaporated milk
  • 1 14 oz. package of caramels (my Mom recommends Kraft)

Directions:

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 9X13 inch pan. Unwrap all of the caramels. Put them in a small pot on the stove over low heat. After all of the caramels are unwrapped, add 1/3 of the evaporated milk. Check them every few minutes and stir to help them melt.

Now onto the brownies. Melt the stick of butter in the microwave. Empty the cake mix into a mixing bowl. Add the melted butter and 1/3 of the evaporated milk…stir. And you’re going to have to use your muscle with this one. The batter is not going to resemble brownie batter – it is going to be more like very thick cookie dough. Take half of the batter and spread it in the 9X13 inch pan. I used a rubber scraper to do this. Try to get the batter as even as possible. Put the flattened mixture in the oven for 6 minutes.

Go back to stirring the caramels – they should be almost melted at this point. After the 6 minutes are up, remove the brownie batter from the oven and pour the hot caramel over the partially cooked batter. Add the chocolate chips over the hot caramel. Now take the remaining brownie batter and spoon 1inch flattened balls (think mini pancakes) over the mixture, covering the caramel as much as you can. Return the batter to the oven and bake for an additional 18 minutes. Take the brownies out, allow them to cool (at least 20 minutes…I know it’s hard). Cut and devour.

Caramel Brownies...yes please!

So faithful readers give this recipe a try…perhaps when one of your favorite people leave you for a tropical vacation. Don’t worry Kteb, I’m not upset…just jealous.

~cdog

One Response to “A little dessert on this Recipe Wednesday?”

  1. kteb March 3, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    hi from the caribbean! these sound delicious, yes please. but not sure if i am going to come back from this place. it is so gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

