Apparently I think I’m a cheese maker

29 Jan

I’ve either lost it or gotten so cocky with cooking that I think I can actually make fresh ricotta cheese. I also have Chow.com to thank for the recipe. Today I’m going to attempt to make fresh ricotta so that I can then use it in a winter lasagna recipe tomorrow. I mean who do I think I am, Martha Stewart? Perhaps all of this snow has gone to my head or perhaps the copious amounts of red wine that I consumed last night with Kteb.

Fresh Ricotta

I’ll keep you posted as to how it turns out. Hopefully it won’t be disaster kitchen 2011.

(I think this is taking my obsession with cheese just a little bit too far, but I’m okay with it.)

Wish me luck!

~cdog

4 Responses to “Apparently I think I’m a cheese maker”

  1. kteb January 29, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    cheesiest post ever. good luck with all that. i’m going to go back to drinking wine.

  2. Love Muffin January 29, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    PS – Don’t discard the whey. It can replace any liquid in a baking recipe. We will be using it to make bread tomorrow to go with the winter lasagna.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hand held foods « KtebCdog's Food Blog - March 29, 2011

    […] Sauteed Nettles – courtesy of Chow.com – make your own ricotta for this to0…I did it…super […]

  2. Butternut Squash & Fried Sage Pizza « The Eats - September 27, 2012

    […] (about a pound, but you will likely have leftover squash) olive oil kosher salt 2 cloves garlic fresh ricotta cheese a few sprigs thyme, leaves removed 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan 10-15 sage leaves oil for frying […]

Leave a Reply

