What to do with that leftover raw squash…promise this isn’t gross!

19 Oct

So if you’re like me, you go to the grocery store and pick up a whole butternut squash. I bought said squash for the yummy dish I made last week. Well we only used half. What the heck am I going to do with only half a squash? I’m not big on mashes and I certainly wasn’t going to buy more just to make some over-sweetened casserole that I probably wouldn’t eat. The good people over at CHOW gave me a bright idea…

Squash TACOS!!! I know, I know…sounds gross or well, maybe not gross but not appetizing. However, I BEG to differ my friends. They were delicious.

Squash tacos - don't play I didn't make these

The tacos were super easy. Here’s the recipe from CHOW, however, I used regular grocery store tortillas, shredded monterey jack cheese, hot sauce, sour cream (duh! I am from Wisconsin) and romaine lettuce. However upon further review, the next time I make these you better believe I’m doing them up as burritos with black beans, corn salsa and all of the above fixins.

Give them a try and let me know how you made them!

~cdog

Leave a Reply

