Scotch Eggs aka heaven on a plate

20 Sep

So the idea of covering a hard boiled egg in sausage, didn’t really sound that appealing to me. Weird, I know. It was actually my mom who suggested we get them as an appetizer when out to dinner one night. Of course we had to be in Wisconsin to get them. Essentially a Scotch Egg is a hard boiled egg, covered in ground sausage and then deep fried AND it was served with a whole grain mustard – YUM.

Scotch Egg Goodness

It wasn’t until the server brought the hot Scotch eggs that I realized the goodness in front of me. So Scotch Eggs can most often be found in the UK, apparently you can buy them pre-packaged in the grocery stores…that might be a little too weird for my taste. Buuuuuut, we had them made to order (of course) and they were brought to our table piping hot. It was like breakfast in little bites. I don’t know when I’ll get to have them again but I can certainly hear the Love Muffin now…”let’s make Scotch Eggs,” he’s a crazy one like that.

Cdog’s word of advice: if you ever go to a restaurant and see Scotch Eggs on the menu, GET THEM! Actually, get two orders and I’ll meet you there.

~cdog

One Response to “Scotch Eggs aka heaven on a plate”

  1. Love Muffin September 22, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    The recipe seems easy enough. Too much work for this Friday…? I need a deep fryer.

Leave a Reply

