beer, here there and everywhere

16 Jun

Okay, so as you all will start to learn more about me you’ll realize that I am a HUGE beer lover. Most girls love cranberry vodkas, not this girl. Give me a beer any day of the week! With that said I thought I would pay homage to some of my favorite Wisconsin beers.

The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel just published this great article “8 great beer meccas are within a day’s drive of Milwaukee” If you’re ever planning on visiting Wisconsin, especially in the summer, I’d highly recommend reading this article.

In the meantime, if you’re stuck at your desk (like the rest of us) here are some great beers to ask for at your local store. Yes, believe it or not, most of these beers you can get anywhere in the country, just ask your local store. If they can’t get it they’ll give you a distributor who can get it for you.

Point Brewery – Steven’s Point, WI (the place where cdog was born)

Nude Beach – So Summer brews are eh, alright for me. I’ll drink them if they’re around, but I don’t die for them. Except for this beer. The first time I had it, the bar was lucky I didn’t finish the whole keg. Okay, well maybe they would have wanted me to do that…This is the BEST summer wheat beer I’ve ever had. Highly recommended while at the beach, grilling or just sunning yourself in the backyard. Heck, do it, take a run through that sprinkler!

New Glarus Brewing Co. – New Glarus, WI

Spotted Cow – One of my favoritest ale’s ever! Please if you ever have the opportunity to drink it, do it for me!Fat Squirrel – Another great one by New Glarus. This is a nut brown ale, a little bit sweeter than your normal ale, but so good anytime of the year.Wisconsin Belgian Red – So here’s the deal, I’m not really a fan of Belgian’s. I keep trying them and trying them but the yeast, I don’t know, it just doesn’t do it for me. HOWEVER, this beer is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. This is the first drink that my husband and I had after we were married AND the first beer we had in our first house. Try it. Do it. You know you wanna!My last recommendations are somewhat hmm, how do I put this…normal? As big of a beer snob as I can be, I still LOVE LOVE LOVE…

Miller Lite and you can never go wrong with the Champagne of Beers, Miller High Life

Happy Summer Drinking!!

-cdog

4 Responses to “beer, here there and everywhere”

  1. kteb June 16, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    um, why wouldn’t you drink nude beach on a nude beach? just saying.

  2. cdogdad June 17, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    To echo the comment above about being in Wisconsin – read the article.
    If you are planning to be in Wisconsin, take the tours. They are fantastic and different in each place. New Glarus is the cleanest brewery I’ve seen and may be the cleanest
    building period.

  3. cdogdad June 22, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    Maybe this is why the Point Beer is so good – especially the Nude Beach, one while grilling & one while eating – aaaahhhh
    http://www.jsonline.com/business/96925609.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On the road again « The Eats - August 18, 2011

    […] 3. New Glarus Brewing Co. – Spotted Cow…need I say more? […]

Leave a Reply

